Tres Leches Flan Cake

 

This past June I became a total fanatic on a search for the best cupcake recipes I could find. What started the frenzy was a blog that featured Banana Cream Pie Cupcakes. I was totally blown away by this recipe!! They not only looked scrumptious, but the combination of ingredients was outstanding.   Shortly after getting this wonderful recipe, I decided I was going to make a few different kinds of cupcakes for my daughter’s upcoming birthday.  These cupcakes sounded out of this world and began me on a frenzied search for more heavenly bites of scrumptiousness!! (is that even a word!! LOL )

While I started out only planning on making 3-4 kinds of cupcakes, I kept finding more and more unbelievably awesome sounding recipes. I never knew what wonders were out there waiting for me!! When I finally finished the search I had 50 plus recipes I wanted to try. We actually narrowed it down to about 18 that I was going to bake. Unfortunately I got sick that week with a stomach flu and my plans fell through.. :(  But I am still planning on trying all the recipes I saved, just a few at a time along the way. During this search for cupcakes I stumbled upon a recipe for a cake that sounded too good to be true! It was a recipe for a Tres Leches Flan Cake. Now I LOVE flan for starters. Growing up I remember my mom making custard and thinking it was the greatest thing ever! While I still love custard, Cre’me Brule is one of my favorite desserts these days. Then you have Tres Leches cake which is a heavenly concoction of flavors too good to be true. So here you have this dessert that combines the two!! How good does it get. :)

I finally had the chance to make the cake tonite and can say that we “LOVED” it!!! The cake is soooo moist and the flan is delicious! I love how the layers of flan and cake look and how the caramel just floats down the sides and onto the plate. It is a beautiful looking dessert.I think adding some strawberries in the empty middle with a dollop of whipped cream would really set it off nicely!

All we have is a silicone bundt pan and it is not very deep, so I had extra mixture and used some mini silicone bundt pans to use up the extra. While it turned out really good, I was not quite as happy with the appearance as I could have been. I just am not a fan of the silicone pans. Next time I make this recipe (and I definitely will be making it again!! ) I will use a regular metal bundt pan as it is deeper and I think will bake better. I now can mark another recipe off of my every growing list..is it down to 1477 recipes….or is that 1747 recipes??!!? Who knows?!…all I know is it’s going to be a fun road to feeding my passion for cooking!! :)

Here is the Link for the recipe site:

http://joelens.blogspot.com/2008/09/tres-leches-flan-cake.html

Tres Leches Flan Cake
Cake:
1 (18.25 oz.) box butter/yellow cake mix and
ingredients to prepare as directed on box
1 (12 oz) can of regular Coke or
PepsiTopping:
1 (10.9-oz.) jar cajeta (caramel topping) or
caramel ice cream topping

Flan:
1 (14 oz.) can sweetened
condensed milk
1 (12 oz.) can evaporated milk
3 eggs
1 tablespoon
vanilla extract

Heat oven to 350 degrees

1.) Follow instructions to
make cake, but use the can of coke instead of water.
2.) Set cake mix aside
and make flan
3.) Put the flan ingredients in a blender and mix well
4.)
Spray the bundt pan with Pam and then cover the bottom with caramel
5.) Pour
cake mix into bundt pan.
6.) Pour the flan mix gently down one side of the
pan. The flan will go to the bottom and the cake mix will rise a bit as the
flan mixture fills the bottom of the pan.
7.) Set the bundt pan in a larger
pan or tray with hot water. You are creating a bain marie or water bath, so you
only need a couple of inches of water.
8.) Put it all in the oven and it will
cook for at least 45 minutes and as much as an hour.
9.) Check the cakes
doneness with a toothpick. The cake will stay moister than most cakes you’ve
ever made and you will see it separate a bit from the pan when it is
done.
10.) Let it cool and refrigerate for several hours or
overnight.
11.) Take it out two hours before you plan to serve. Turn the
bundt pan over and let it sit while warming to room temperature.
12.) The
bundt pan should then lift off to reveal a layer of flan, topped with caramel
sitting atop a very moist cake.

2 thoughts on “Tres Leches Flan Cake

Leave a Reply

