Candied Jalapeno Cornbread

I love when comfort food is also inexpensive and easy to make! One of my favorites is a big pot of beans and then some corn bread to go with it. Recently I was cleaning out my pantry to use up all the odds and ends in there. I found I had a variety of  dried beans and decided to make a bean soup. I threw them all in the crockpot with some seasonings and ended up with an awesome bean soup! :)

Whenever I make a big pot of beans I like to either serve it with warmed corn tortillas and salsa or cornbread. Tonight I decided to experiment and use some of my Candied Jalapenos in a cornbread. I love corn bread, but I also love the sweet corn cakes that are served at many Mexican restaurants. So I came up with a recipe that is a combination of both corn bread and corn cakes…and it turned out quite YUMMY!!! :) The texture is very moist but loved the bit of crunchiness around the edges.

Candied Jalapeno Cornbread

1 cup Masa Trigo (comes in a bag and is used to make tortillas)

1/2 cup corn meal

1 1/2 cups flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp. salt

3 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 egg, slightly beaten

1/2 cup sour cream

1 1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup oil

3 tbsp. minced candied jalapenos

1 cup corn kernels (I used fresh corn cut from the cob)

Mix all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add wet ingredients and mix well. Finally stir in jalapenos and corn. Pour into greased 9″ x 9″ pan. Place into preheated 375 degree oven and bake for about 40-45 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Candied Jalapeno Cornbread

Leave a Reply

