One year ago…Breakfast Cookies

I was going through old posts this morning and one post from this time last year had me really laughing at myself! When I first started blogging it was to share my passion for cooking and eating with my friends and family. We all definitely love to eat and I love to share my cooking with anyone who wants to eat! My family and friends inspire me to always try new recipes and they love being my “guinea pigs” so to say…lol. They all make me feel very loved and appreciated when it comes to my cooking abilities. A blog I had written a year ago was one where I was showing great appreciation for my daughter Chanine and her excellence when it came to Vegan cooking. She became vegan shortly after marrying her husband, who had grown up vegan. The rest of us in the family thought she was a bit crazy and really could not understand how she could do this. I mean how could she give up our family favorites such as pork roast and rosemarina, carne asada, carnitas and our family’s favorite condiment, SOUR CREAM!?!?!?!?!

Chanine has definitely inherited the family’s talent for cooking and over the next few years she showed us that Vegan eating could actually be very tasty. Although the dishes she shared with us were always quite good, none of us were ever interested in giving up meat and dairy and committing to a Vegan lifestyle. The blog I wrote last year listed many of the great dishes she has prepared for us and I gave her high accolades on how wonderful they all were. But I ended the blog with this quote….

 

 

“While I have no plans on becoming Vegan any time soon (I love carne asada and pork roast too much!! ),  I can say that my daughter inspires me to eat healthier, because I now know that eating healthier can still be YUMMY!!! :)”

 

 
As I read those words, a slowly developing smile, became a full tummy filled laugh! :) It was so funny for me to read those words, because I truly believed there was no way I would or could ever become vegan!! Now here I sit living a vegan lifestyle for almost 8 months and I am loving it!! Do I have any regrets?!?…None at all!! Do I miss those foods I left behind?!?…honestly, once in a while I will think about those foods and maybe have a bit of hankering to eat them again, but not enough to go back to that way of eating. The difference in my health and the way I feel, far out weighs the desire to eat that way again. Plus I have found so many wonderful recipes out there that satisfy the Foodie in me, that I am more than satisfied eating a plant strong diet.

What started me going over my old posts was looking to see if I had ever shared the recipe for Breakfast Cookies. This recipe is one I found when I first became vegan and love it because not only is it very easy and nutritious, but my 12-year-old loves it too!! These cookies make up easy and are great to grab for a quick on the go breakfast. Plus you can play a bit with the ingredients to you and your family’s liking.

Here is the original link…

http://blueberrygirlinoz.blogspot.com/2010/05/no-sugar-oat-drops.html

Here is the recipe with my changes….

Breakfast Cookies

2 cups oats ( I used a mix of regular and steel-cut)
1 cup coconut flakes
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/4 cup of almond meal

1/4 cup ground flax-seed
1 cup mixed nuts,  chopped ( I used almonds, walnuts plus sunflower and pumpkin seeds)
1 1/2 cup dried fruit  (I used raisins, dates, cherries and blueberries, )

4 ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup applesauce

1/3 cup peanut butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350. 
In a large bowl, combine oats, flax-seed, almond meal, mixed nuts and coconut flakes. Stir in allspice and cinnamon. Add dried fruit and stir until well and evenly mixed. 
In another bowl, combine applesauce, peanut butter, mashed banana and vanilla extract. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients and mix well.

Drop by large spoonfuls onto parchment lined cookie sheet. Place in oven and bake for 20 minutes. Let cool slightly and remove from pan.

I made 24 nice sized cookies from this recipe. Nice to put the extras in a ziploc bag and have in the fridge for a quick snack too! :)

My Bountiful Basket for 8/18/2012

One thought on “One year ago…Breakfast Cookies

  1. Welcome to the green side…lol! I am happy you made the change mom and am glad to see the good it has done for you :)

Leave a Reply

