Honey Cider Bread

This time of year brings out the baker in me!! I remember as a kid all the baking my grandma would do as the holidays approached. She would have tins and more tins full of all kinds of cookies and candies that she had made. She would store these tins in the attic where it was cool and when guests would come over she would make a plate up with all kinds of goodies. Once we moved away from Indiana, my mom would then do lots of baking as the holidays approached. I have continued the tradition and have passed it down to my daughters and hopefully eventually it will continue with my granddaughters. A “BIG” thank-you and hug for my mom and grandma for passing down such a fun tradition to me!! :)

This will be my first year eating a plant strong diet as the holidays approach and I am actually looking forward to it!! I am really excited to find ways to replace all the goodies I used to make with healthier but great tasting new versions. Of course I already have pinned tons of recipes from Pinterest that are crying out for me to try. One of them I found the other day really caught my eye and I just had to make it ASAP!! The recipe was for a Honey Beer Bread. The only problem was all we had were some dark beers and we didn’t really think they would work too well. What we did have, was Wood Chuck Hard Cider, the Fall blend. So I decided to give it a try. Well all I can say is………………..WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We absolutely loved this bread!! Not only is it delicious, but it is extremely easy too!!  Plus I think it is pretty easy to play with the flour/sugar/beer types you use too!  I plan on making loaves of it to give out for gifts this year.

Here is the original site for the Honey Beer Bread…..

http://gimmesomeoven.com/honey-beer-bread/

My recipe is close to the same, I just used a bit healthier ingredients and cider instead of beer. So feel free to play with the recipe a bit according to your tastes. I think next time I bake some (tonight actually!!!) I am going to add some nuts into the batter too!! :)

Honey Cider Bread

3 cups unbleached wheat flour
2 Tbsp. raw sugar
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt    1/2 tsp. cinnamon
2 Tbsp. honey
1 bottle (12 ounces) Wood Chuck Cider/Fall Blend
4 Tbsp. Earth Balance melted

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Grease a 9″ x 5″ x 3″ inch loaf pan.

Place dry ingredients into a bowl and mix well. Stir in honey and cider and mix just til blended. Place 2 tbsp. of Earth Balance

into bottom of  loaf pan. Pour batter on top of Earth Balance and then pour remaining Earth Balance on top of batter.

Bake for 50-60 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Great while still warm, but also was really good the next day too!! :)

On another note, I just love getting my Bountiful Baskets every week!! Looking forward to great things in our baskets with fall coming. Here’s a pic of my basket from this past week. :) Made an awesome Potato Leek soup this week and have been using the peaches, bananas and strawberries in my morning smoothies! :) Everyone should check and see if Bountiful Baskets runs in your area…I assure you that you will be quite happy with the quality of the produce and the price too! :)

2 thoughts on “Honey Cider Bread

Leave a Reply

