Flavored Hummus’s

I love being able to find something to snack on that is not only delicious, but it’s actually good for me!!!  When it comes to snack foods I would rather have something savory over sweet and this dish fits the bill perfectly! It is one of my favorite dishes (you will hear me say that a lot!! lol) to have around and it is great for home as well as get togethers. This wonderful dish is hummus!

There are very few ingredients required to make hummus and it is so easy to throw together at the last-minute. The top 5 ingredients are full of healthy goodness. Chickpeas are full of protein and do not contain any cholesterol or saturated fats. Then there is tahini which is actually ground sesame seeds. While tahini does contain fat, it is healthy fat and is also is full of protein and calcium. Next is olive oil, which is also a healthy fat and can help regulate cholesterol and help protect your heart. Two other ingredients in hummus are lemon juice and garlic. Both of these can fight bacteria and viruses, as well as improve immune system functions. They are also filled with antioxidants.

A few months ago I was shopping with one of my daughters at Costco and a company called Baba Foods had a display set-up with their products. From what I understand from their site, they are located in California and only come to Las Vegas every so often and sell their products.They had numerous varieties of flavored hummus’s, as well as their pita chips and baba ghanouj. I have to say they were some of the best hummus’s I have had outside of home. It was quite hard to decide which were my favorites as they were all really good!!. I ended up buying three kinds; Roasted Garlic & Artichoke, Spicy Black  Bean and Curry. They were nice sized containers so I was a little worried they may go bad before we could eat them all. No chance of that happening, they were gone in a week’s time!! We all really liked them and I am hoping they will be back soon so I can buy some more!

But for now I am more than content with making it here at home. I was so inspired by their different flavors that I decided to venture out on my own and try some different varieties. My latest was using a combination of spanish and kalamata olives.

Olive Hummus

1 16 oz. can drained chick peas/garbanzo beans

1/4 cup pitted kalamata olives

1/4 cup spanish olives pitted

2 tbsp. tahini

3 garlic cloves, chopped

Juice of 1 large lemon

2 tbsp. olive oil

Place all ingredients in food processor and blend until smooth. If too thick you can a very small amount f water to thin out. You can even use water to replace the olive oil if you want to cut down on calories/fat.(while it is quite good this way, I love the flavor of the olive oil!) 🙂  Chill for a few hours for flavors to blend.Serve with pita chips, crackers or veggies.

3 thoughts on “Flavored Hummus’s

Leave a Reply

