Blessings in Disguise

I have always loved to cook. It has been a part of who I am for as long as I can remember. I recently told a friend who shares the same passion for cooking, that cooking is our language of love. I enjoy cooking for others and love to have people over to eat and fellowship. But what brings me the greatest joy is cooking for my family! I love when my daughters get excited when they know I am making a certain dish they love.  Recently asked them what each of their favorite dishes were and most of them really had a hard time deciding..lol 🙂 For one it is my Stacked Enchiladas that she loves to eat. For another one it is my Pork and Rosemarina, while another loves my Greek Green Bean Stew. And then there are my Potato Tacos that are another’s favorite. Another one of my daughters and her husband, love my Posole (though they said it was hard deciding between my Posole or Tamales).

But for a while there I seemed to have lost my passion for cooking. Instead of it being fun, it was a chore. I was totally losing my desire to cook. I looked for very basic, simple ways to cook. Or I relied on my oldest daughter for meals(which isn’t bad because she is an awesome cook!!!). But the worst of all happened, I began to use fast food, frozen foods and pre-made packaged foods to feed me and my youngest daughter. It was not at all healthy for us and I felt helpless in digging out of my rut!

But I can thank a very dear friend of mine for helping dig me out of this rut! She had asked me to help her out with an event she was throwing to start off a very awesome ministry she has begun. I was just going to help where ever I was needed in the kitchen, but when the lady who initially was in charge dropped out, my friend asked me to take over the planning and cooking. The menu had pretty much been decided by this point and was basically just bite size appetizers. I decided to make a bunch of different bite sized desserts to go along. The menu was as follows:

Shrimp Bites

Pinwheels

Tortilla Chips with Regular Salsa and a Mango Salsa

Fruit Kabobs

2 types of Brownie Bites (Caramel and Peanut Butter)

Citrus Drops (recipe follows)

Oreo Cheese Cake Bites

Cheesecake w/Cherry Topping Bites

Red Velvet Cheese Cake Bites

Pineapple Coconut Macaroons

I baked the whole day before the event and had so much fun! I was beginning to get some of that old spark back! The following day with some wonderful helpers, I was able to get the rest of the food ready and out on time. I was in my element and everything went wonderfully! I had numerous people who asked if I was a professional caterer and wanted my card! People were loving my food and it felt awesome to see people enjoying what we had made! It felt so good to be back in the saddle!

 

I am so thankful that my friend asked me to help out with her event, as I feel God truly used this moment to get me back on track with my cooking. I believe he has bigger and better things in store for me and cooking will be a part of it! I feel blessed as my friend has asked me to be The Director of Hospitality for her ministry G2G.  You never know where your blessings may be hiding.

So here I sit with many things on my heart as to where I am going with my reignited passion for cooking.  I am writing a blog now and having so much fun with it! I am cooking for others again and have plans to begin a Food Tasting in my home in September. It will be held every Saturday for the rest of the year and I am planning on cooking old dishes as well as trying the many I have saved over time. I am Director of Hospitality for an up and coming Ministry that will reach many!! But the best thing is I am looking forward to cooking for my family again. That is where my passion began and where it will always be. I can now hear my grandkids say…grandma my favorite dish is…. 🙂

 

Here is the link and recipe for the Citrus Drops I made…They were really good!! 🙂

http://www.dianasdesserts.com/index.cfm/fuseaction/recipes.recipeListing/filter/dianas/recipeID/1890/Recipe.cfm

Citrus Drops

1 (18.25-ounce) box of Orange Supreme or Lemon Supreme cake mix
1 (3.4-ounce) package lemon instant pudding mix
4 eggs
1/2 cup water
1 cup sour cream
1 pound (16 ounce box) confectioners’ sugar
1 (6-ounce) can orange juice concentrate, thawed
3 tablespoons melted butter 
Instructions:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (160 C). Spray two 24-cup miniature muffin tins with nonstick cooking spray. Place cake mix, instant pudding mix, eggs, water and sour cream in the bowl of a heavy-duty stand mixer or large bowl. Beat with the stand mixer or an electric hand mixer on medium, until well blended and smooth. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tins and bake 10 to 12 minutes. Remove from oven and place on oven racks. Continue baking batches until all batter is used. You should have enough batter for 96 muffins.

While the muffins bake, combine the confectioners’ sugar with the orange juice concentrate and melted butter. Beat until smooth using a hand whisk or electric mixer. As the batches of muffins come out of the oven, dip them in the glaze by inserting a fork in the top of the muffin and dipping the bottom and sides in the glaze. Place on parchment-lined baking sheets, top side down, until glaze is set. These can be prepared several days before serving. Store in a container with a tight-fitting lid.

Makes 96 Citrus Drops

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blessings in Disguise

  1. You did a fabulous job with this event!!! What a wonderful menu…I don’t think your friend will ever let you leave 🙂

    PS…if I asked my kids their favorite foods, the would all be desserts!

Leave a Reply

