Beef and Noodles

 

Measuring ingredients…how many of us really measure our ingredients when we cook? Or do we just wing it, measure by eye?!? As I grew up learning to cook there were really no measurements on those tried and true family recipes my mom made. I remembering watching her cook and getting a feel for the recipes and eyeing the measurements while she added ingredients. Once I was on my own and started cooking for myself and my family, I did alot of cooking just by taste, learning to start with a little and adjusting the flavors accordingly. Now don’t get me wrong, that there were never any disasters, because there definitely were. But I believe I learned quickly because with my passion and heart for cooking, I really wanted to succeed. I know as I tried new recipes, I would follow them exactly the first time through, but then each subsequent time, I would play with them and make them my own. Many times I would have a dish at someone’s home and then later try to replicate myself at home. I would turn their dish into my own rendition. I would make it take it and add my own touch on it. While many dishes are delicious on their own merits, there are those that we must make our own. There are many dishes that we all may like, but each of us has very different ways to prepare them. We each put our own signature on dishes we create depending on our cultures, our family’s likes and dislikes and how we interpret a dish.

 

Some dishes that come to mind are Beef Stew, Spaghetti, Chili, Goulash, Pot Roast, Fried Chicken, Enchiladas and Beef and Noodles. I think there are probably as many different ways to make them as there are stars in the sky!! 🙂 We each put our own spin on our dishes that make them distinctly our own. So while each dish may have the same name, each person’s creation will definitely has its own flavor and part of that comes from the love we add when we cook. I think that is one of the reasons I am becoming so drawn into this world of Food Blogging and Foodies, each person that I have started to follow has such a love for cooking and sharing their food adventures with each other. It is such a wonderful little community that I find myself being drawn into, and I know I have only barely began to uncover what is out there in Foodie Land! 🙂 So here is to each of our own passions, each of our own uniqueness…each of our own foodie backyards where we share what we love most!  COOKING!!! 🙂

 

Beef and Noodles

1 1/2 lbs. round or sirloin steak cut into thin strips

1 cup white onion diced

1 cup celery diced

3 cloves minced garlic

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 pkg. dry onion/mushroom soup mix

3/4 cup red wine

2  cups water

1 tbsp. A-1 sauce

1 tsp. Lawrys seasoned salt

2 tbsp. dry parsley

1/2 tsp. ground black pepper

8 oz thin sliced mushrooms

1 cup frozen peas

1 tbsp. corn starch mixed into 1/4 cup warm water

1/2 cup sour cream

12 0z pkg. cooked egg noodles tossed with 2 tbsp. butter

Place oil in a large heated pan. Add to pan the garlic, onion and celery. Saute’ until onions are translucent and celery is softened. Add beef and continue cooking until all pink is gone from meat. Then add, soup mix, wine, water, A-1 sauce, salt, parsley and pepper with meat mixture. Stir well then bring to boil, cover pan and simmer on medium low for 20 minutes. Add mushrooms and peas and cook for another 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Mix in water/cornstarch mixture and cook for 2-3 minutes while stirring to allow juices to thicken. Add sour cream to meat mixture right before serving and then pour over hot noodles. Mix well and serve. Great with green salad and crusty french bread.

4 thoughts on “Beef and Noodles

Leave a Reply

