Chai Quick Bread

Cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, cardamom, ginger, allspice, vanilla and star anise, a combination of flavors and aromas that are a magical mixture of spice heaven for me!  I have been known to place a pan on the stove filled with water, cinnamon sticks, ginger and cloves just to simmer so I can enjoy the wonderful aroma of these spices! These spices are also part of the reason I  love the fall/winter seasons so much. This is the time of year when these smells and tastes reign dominant in our cooking and baking. A time of culinary bliss for me!

So it would only be logical that I would love Chai Tea. I was first introduced to Chai tea by my little sister(who has wonderful taste!!). I was instantly in love with the wonderful, creamy Chai Tea drink she bought me. I shared that love with my daughters and it is now a family favorite! So I decided to expand my love for Chai into a quick bread. I Googled of course, but couldn’t really find one that used what I wanted, so I decided to make my own. I am quite happy with the results and so are the ones who have tried it in my family. Hope you all enjoy it too! 🙂

Chai Quick Bread

2 1/2 cups sifted flour

1/2 tsp.baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup Chamba Chai Latte mix

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

3/4 cup vegetable oil

2 chai tea bags steeped in 1 cup boiling water (I used black chai, but you can use green tea too)

2 tsp. vanilla

1/4 buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix dry ingredients into a large bowl. In another bowl beat eggs and then mix in remaining wet ingredients. Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix well. Pour into greased and lightly floured loaf pan. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into bread comes out clean.

 

2 thoughts on “Chai Quick Bread

Leave a Reply

