~~Jalapeno Cupcakes~~

I “LOVE” spicy food! Now I am not talking about food that is so hot it sets your mouth on fire and has no taste..I am talking food that is really spicy, but also has alot of great flavor to it! I am partial to Hispanic food, but I have also come to love Indian food for much of the same reason. In my family, we run the spectrum from one end of “The Spicy Scale” to the other. We have my youngest daughter who loves spicy food of any type or heat, to my oldest daughter who likes spicy food but her taste buds are very delicate shall we say…lol. There aren’t too many who can’t handle the heat and that includes even the youngest ones. 🙂 So when I see recipes that use any type of chilies (my faves are jalapenos!), it instantly draws my attention and I have to add it to my ever-growing list of must try recipes. And it seems since I have started following so many great blogs, the stack just keeps getting bigger and bigger!)

One recipe that caught my eye a few weeks ago was from A Dash of Domestic…for Candie Jalapenos. It instantly got my mind going and I knew I had to try them! Both of her recipes are awesome and I would have used them except she uses the canning method and I honestly do not have the patience! LOL So I did some research and came up with my own recipe (to be shared soon!.) So the other night I made a batch and they came out fantastic!  When I was done I had some extra jalapeno syrup and there was no way I was throwing it away. Instead I got my little brain into gear so I could find a way to use it. I finally decided to make Jalapeno Cupcakes. Well I must say…they are FANTASTIC!!!! They are very moist and the flavor is outstanding!! 🙂 There is one thing though, you must be a jalapeno fan to enjoy these..there is some heat involved, but the flavor is great! 🙂

Jalapeno Cupcakes 

1 white cake mix

1 small box french vanilla  instant pudding

3 eggs

1/3 cup oil

1/2 cup sour cream

1 cup water

1/3 cup jalapeno syrup

2 tbsp. finely diced candied jalapenos

_______________________________________

Buttercream icing

Whole candied jalapeno slices for decoration

Mix cake mix and pudding mix together. Mix in remaining ingredients until well mixed. Pour into cupcake liners 3/4 full. Place in to preheated 350 degree oven and bake for 18-22 minutes. Let cool and ice with your favorite buttercream. Top with a candied jalapeno slice for decoration.

5 thoughts on “~~Jalapeno Cupcakes~~

    • That we are…loving the Candies Jalapeno idea….can’t wait to find other ways to use them!! (I can’t wait to try them with the cream cheese on crackers! ) 🙂

    • I’m tellin you Bobbi, they are sooo good!! (Tell Gabe I said he would love them!!) Nonna loves them too…gonna take some for the other girls to try on Monday…they are definitly a keeper for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

