Almond Custard Rice Pudding

I have been on a comfort food kick as of lately and the end does not seem to be anywhere in site! đŸ™‚ So when my youngest daughter wanted to buy pre-made rice pudding today (is she crazy!?!), I had a much better idea in mind. While my mom makes an awesome rice pudding, I decided to take it one step further and put my own touch on it. Another comfort food for me that I really love is custard. So I decided to combine the two.

 

I played with and tweaked the recipe to my liking and ventured out to make it this evening. It smelled wonderful while baking, looked beautiful when it came out of the oven and tasted scrumptious when we finally ate it! I know my daughter enjoyed it much more than if I had bought her that yucky old store-bought stuff! đŸ™‚

 

Almond Custard Rice Pudding

2 cups cooked rice

4 eggs, slightly beaten

3 cups milk

2 tbsp. melted butter

1 cup sugar

1/2 tsp. almond extract

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/3 ground almonds

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Mix milk, eggs, butter, sugar, almond extract, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg well. Stir in rice and almonds. Grease a 9″ x 9″ pan with butter. Pour rice mixture into pan. Place water into a larger baking dish about 1″ deep. Place pan of rice mixture into pan of water. Place into a preheated 350 degree oven and bake for 1 hour. Remove and allow to cool before serving. You can also add raisins if you like. The almonds can also be left out and use 1 tsp.of vanilla instead of the almond extract.

 

 

One thought on “Almond Custard Rice Pudding

Leave a Reply

