Creamy Chicken Noodle Casserole

I am still on my comfort food kick and casseroles are definitely a big comfort food for me! Maybe it goes back to it being a favorite food for me as a child or the fact of so many flavors coming together in such a delicious blend. There are so many wonderful combinations one can do and it’s always fun trying new ones to add to the list of favorites.

One of my favorites as a teen/young adult was one my step-mom made. It used ground beef, corn and noodles. It also became one of my daughter’s favorites too. It is a recipe that hopefully will be passed down through the generations in her memory. 🙂 Comfort foods and good memories…pretty good combination if you ask me! My recipe is a play on her recipe using chicken with a few other ingredient changes.

Creamy Chicken Noodle Casserole

1 lb. cooked chicken, shredded

12 oz pkg. noodles, cooked

2 tbsp. butter

1 medium onion, diced

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup milk

1 pkg. dry onion soup mix

2 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. Lawrys seasoned salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1 can corn, drained

1 can sliced mushrooms, drained

1 cup bread crumbs (I make my own)

2 tbsp. butter

Melt 2 tbsp. butter in pan, add onions and saute’ until translucent. Place onions in bottom of 9″ x 12″ pan. In a large bowl mix soups, sour cream, milk, garlic, salt and pepper. Mix in chicken, corn, mushrooms and noodles. Pour mixture into pan on top of onions. Sprinkle with bread crumbs. Cut 2 tbsp. of butter into pieces and put on top of bread crumbs. Place into pre-heated 350 degree oven. Bake for 30 minutes. Let sit for 10 minutes before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

