Breakfast Goodies

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day!! Biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, sunny side up eggs, fried eggs, omelets, Quiche, Eggs Benedict, hash browns, fried country potatoes, sausage, bacon, ham steak, toast, bagels, english muffins, huevos rancheros, chorizo and eggs, waffles, pancakes, french toast, orange juice, coffee, tea, donuts, danish’s, oatmeal, cereal, grits, fresh fruit and the list can go on and on…

During the week we generally eat on the go…my daughter at school and me whatever I can grab quickly in the morning. So on the week-end I really like to try to make a nice breakfast on either Saturday or Sunday, although because it’s just the 2 of us, I don’t always follow through. This morning though I was feeling better (migraine is subsiding!!) and decided I needed to make us a great breakfast! One of my faves from when my oldest daughters were younger is Chorizo and Eggs. Now when I made it for them I used regular chorizo from the store;  that is until I really knew what was in chorizo! I had a hard time using it after that (although I admit I still did occasionally did use it!) I have many times since then wanted to make my own but never have followed through. I have although discovered a wonderful substitute that has the same texture and that tastes just as good as real chorizo and that is Soyrizo. Not only is the price great and it is healthier too! 🙂

So this morning I made a Chorizo and Egg Skillet which turned out quite yummy! I served it with warm corn tortillas and home-made Chai Tea. Needless to say both my daughter and I were quite happy with Brunch!

Chorizo and Egg Skillet

1/2 bag cubed frozen potatoes

1/2 medium onion, diced

2-3 tbsp. oil

1 pkg soyrizo

5 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup shredded Mexican cheese blend

salt and pepper to taste

Place oil in preheated large skillet, add onions. Cook over medium, until onions are translucent, add potatoes. Cook potatoes until slightly browned, but cooked through. Add crumbled chorizo and cook about 8-10 minutes stirring every few minutes. Pour eggs evenly over top of potatoes and chorizo. Place lid over pan and turn down to medium low. Cook about 10 minutes or until eggs are set.Season with salt and pepper. Top with cheese and cook until cheese is melted. Cut into wedges and serve with salsa and warmed corn tortillas.

 

One thought on “Breakfast Goodies

  1. Yum! My best friend growing up was Mexican and we had a lot of chorrizo and egg burritos for breakfast, but I forgot all about them. Thanks for the reminder… time to make some happen in my life, too!

Leave a comment