Cilantro Pesto

I love trying new recipes. I literally have thousands of recipes that I have saved to eventually try and this pile just keeps growing. Every so often I will go through them and throw out the ones that no longer appeal to me and decide which ones are in my next batch of must try’s. Some I try as is and some I tweak to what I think may taste better or to my family’s likes. Once I have tried a recipe there are a few places it may go. First is the discard pile, it was a total disappointment and I don’t feel there was anything redeeming about it. Then there is the pile where I liked it, but it needs me to tweak it some to improve the taste. Then there are the few that are keepers and I add them into my rotation on meals. Every once in a great while I come upon a recipe that is so totally outstanding that it becomes a family favorite and I just want to share with everyone!! 🙂 This is one of those recipes.

Tonight I made a dinner that has been called one of the best I have ever made!! 🙂 It was a dinner that I have made many times before and has always been a favorite. But tonight I added something new that took an already great dish and took it completely over the top. The flavor combinations added to an already great dish brought it to another level. I made my Carnitas Taco’s that on their own get rave reviews from friends and family alike. To go with the Carnitas I made a batch of Cilantro Pesto. This delicious recipe excited the taste buds like never before! The combination of nuttiness from the pepitas, slight heat from the jalapeno, saltiness from the cotija cheese and tang from the lime juice are experience you cannot miss! I can’t wait to try it next with Carne Asada Tacos. This is a dish that will be a staple for our family from now on! 🙂

Here is the link for the recipe,

http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2011/08/sauced-cilantro-pesto.html

I did make a few very minor changes that are in parenthesis…

Cilantro Pesto

  • 2 cups packed fresh cilantro, rinsed and dried (I used 3 cups)
  • 3 medium garlic cloves (I used 6 cloves of garlic)
  • 1/4 cup pepitas which are hulled pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 olive oil (I used 1/3 cup)
  • 1/4 cup cotija cheese, crumbled
  • 1 serrano pepper, seeded and roughly chopped (I used 1 jalapeno)
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice (I used juice from 1 lime, about 3 tbsp.)
  • Kosher salt

Place cilantro and pepitas in the bowl of a food processor. Pulse until cilantro and pepitas are finely chopped, about (5)  1 second pulses, scraping down sides of bowl as necessary. Add garlic and serrano pepper and pulse to combine. With the food processor running, pour oil through feed tube in a slow, steady stream. Keep food processor running until smooth, stopping to scrape down sides of bowl as necessary. Add the cotija cheese and lime juice and pulse to combine. Season with salt to taste. Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to a week, or in a Ziploc bag in the freezer for up to six months.

 

 

Leave a Reply

