Cranberry Apple Coleslaw

My youngest daughter is sooo cute. (She is 11) I love how she looks at the world of food. She is already very opinionated on her likes and dislikes and is becoming quite the food critic. One of her favorite things for dinner is sandwiches. She once told me that she could just eat sandwiches for the rest of her life and nothing else. (She then proceeded to ask me if things like hamburgers, sloppy joes and hot dogs were included because they are on bread too! LOL 😉 )  I myself am pretty fond of sandwiches and one of my faves is from my younger years. I loved when my mom would make Ham and Mozzarella Cheese Hoagies! Nothing particularly fancy or hard in making these, but just the right combination of flavors that make it so good! This sandwich has become one my daughters favorites too! 🙂 Having a perfect side dish when serving sandwiches can also make a huge difference in how much we enjoy the meal.

One of my favorite sides when having sandwiches is coleslaw. Seeing as I love playing with recipes I decided to tweak my normal coleslaw recipe and make it a bit fancy. The results are in and it was given thumbs up by my daughter’s and I am quite happy with it too!

Cranberry Apple  Cole Slaw

1 16 oz. pkg. Cole Slaw mix

1 large apple cored and diced (I leave the peel on)

2 tbsp. minced onion

3 stalks celery diced

1/2 cup Craisins

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup mayonnaise

2 tbsp. Lemon Splash vinaigrette

1/4 cup Creme Brulee creamer

1 tsp. Lawry’s season salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. granulated garlic

1/4 tsp. celery salt

Toss first 6 ingredients together. In another bowl mix remaining ingredients well. Pour over coleslaw and mix well. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour for flavors to blend. Serve well chilled.

One thought on “Cranberry Apple Coleslaw

Leave a Reply

