Lemon Berry Bread

I am originally from Indiana and the one thing I miss the most is the changing of the seasons. My favorite season by far is fall! Even though the calendar says it is fall, you wouldn’t quite know it yet here in Vegas. Our day time highs are still hovering around 100 degrees, although the slight chill early in the morning is giving me some hope that fall is really near! There are so many activities that my family likes to participate in and baking fall goodies is one we truly enjoy!!

Last year I spent the fall back in Indiana with my sister and her family and they love to bake too. My sister baked literally dozens upon dozens and even dozens more loaves of Zucchini Bread and Banana Nut Bread. She did regular size loaves and also the mini loaves. She would always have loaves wrapped up and lined up on her shelves for her husband or daughter to take to work. There was always a loaf for a visitor who stopped by  and a slice for a scrumptious snack with a hot cup of tea on a chilly fall night. 🙂 This past week my thoughts kept drifting back to the happy memories of her baking sessions and it got me in the mood to do some of my own baking. I decided to use up some of the last blueberries I had frozen from the summer, as a farewell to summer! (Hopefully we will see that change here soon!! LOL)

Lemon Berry Bread

1/2 cup butter, softened

2/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup lemon juice

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

Zest from 1 medium lemon

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tbsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup blueberries

1/2 cup Blueberry Craisins

In a mixing bowl, beat together butter, sugar, juice, vanilla and eggs.  Combine flour, baking powder and baking soda; stir into egg mixture alternately with milk.  Fold in lemon zest, nuts, and berries. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 60 to 70 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean.

4 thoughts on “Lemon Berry Bread

  1. Pingback: Totally Tardy 7 Links…. « A Dash of Domestic

Leave a Reply

