Mashed Potato Patties

As much as I love to cook, these days I generally only cook for my youngest daughter and myself. My five oldest daughters have their own families and the family get togethers seem to come further and further apart. 😦   Occasionally a friend will come for dinner and I get to share my cooking delights (it’s usually my friend Carlye, who is one of my biggest cooking fans!!) The problem though is I still tend to cook for a “crowd”.  So we usually have leftovers for a few days! This is not a bad thing because there are some foods that taste even better the next day. But also I like to take certain dishes and “make” something new from them.

That was what was on the agenda tonight. I had leftover mashed potatoes from Tuesdays Meatloaf and decided to make Mashed Potato Patties. They were very simple to make and turned out great. The girls loved them! 🙂

 

Mashed Potato Patties

3 cups leftover mashed potatoes

1 egg, slightly beaten

1/2 cup flour

1/2 white onion diced

1/3 cup shredded cheese(your choice, I had pizza blend)

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 tbsp. dried parsley

1/2 tsp. Lawry’s season salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

Place all ingredients into a large bowl and mix well. Shape into patties.  In a separate bowl mix together 1/3 cup of flour and 1/3 cup panko crumbs. Coat potato patties on both sides with flour/crumb mixture. Place 1/4 cup oil into heated pan. Heat oil on medium/medium high until hot. Add patties and cook on side until golden brown. Flip over and cook until other side is golden brown.

Leave a Reply

