Marlboro Man Sandwich

My pile of to try recipes now has two less recipes in it, but my pile of favorite recipes now has two new additions to it! Last week I was looking through posts on my Facebook Foodie page (https://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Family-of-Foodies/2666981266808360) and someone had asked what our favorite sandwiches were. I of course put Monte Cristos, Ham and Cheese Hoagies and Meatball Sandwiches. I started reading through the replies and found some quite interesting ones I had never heard of. One that really caught my eyes was The Marlboro Man Sandwich.

So of course I had to look it up on the internet and found a wonderful site with some awesome and quite easy recipes to make! I am sure many of you have heard of her site and for those that haven’t, you must check the site out. The site is called The Pioneer Woman Cooks. I decided to try two of her recipes and we are quite happy I did. First I made the Marlboro Sandwich which was wonderful!  The other recipe I made was the Apple Dumplings. My youngest daughter has told me that this is a must keep recipe and that I have to make it often! I made a few slight changes to both recipes but nothing that dramatically changes anything. I am sure you will love these recipes and her site when you check it out!

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/06/marlboro_mans_f/

Marlboro Man Sandwich

1 whole Large (or 2 Small) Onions

2 sticks Butter

2 -3 pounds Cube Steak (tenderized Round Steak That’s Been Extra Tenderized)

Lawry’s Seasoned Salt (or Similar Seasoned Salt)

2 tsp. granulated garlic (This is my addition)

1/2 cup (approximately) Worcestershire Sauce

Tabasco Sauce, To Taste (I used Tapatio)

4 whole French/deli Rolls  (I used Bolillos)

8 slices provolone (My addition also)

Slice onions and cook in 1/4 stick butter until soft and light brown. Remove and set aside.

Slice cube steak against the grain. Season with Lawry’s and garlic.

Heat 2 tablespoons butter over high heat (in same skillet) until melted and beginning to brown.  Add meat in single layer. Cook one side until brown, then flip and cook until brown, about a minute on both sides.

Add 1/2 cup (at least) Worcestershire sauce, 5 to 6 shakes Tabasco, and 2 tablespoons butter.  Add cooked onions. Stir to combine.

Butter halved French rolls and brown in skillet.

To assemble, lay bottom half of French roll on plate. Place 2 slices of provolone on bottom half of bun.Place meat mixture, followed by a spoonful of juice from the pan. Top with other half of roll, cut in half, and devour!

2 thoughts on “Marlboro Man Sandwich

  1. They looked amazing & the onion I snatched was really delicious. The seasoning is really savory…would love try try & veganize the recipe by substituting the meat out for either a vegan style meat or portobello mushrooms. Yum!

  2. This sounds amazingly good. This is my first visit to your blog, but it will not be my last. I really like the food and recipes you share with your readers and I enjoyed the time I spent browsing through your blog. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

Leave a Reply

