Lovin My Bountiful Baskets = Peach Crisp!!

This past January a friend of mine made a post on her Facebook that has help change the way I eat forever.  Her post read…..

” Great Bountiful Basket today: 10 green apples, 4 kiwis, 2 pomegranates, 6 pears,6 oranges, 11 bananas, 4 ears of corn, 1 head of lettuce,  1 head of cauliflower, 3 heads of broccoli, 6 tomatoes, & a big bag of brussel sprouts.”

I was so intrigued by her post and had to know just what Bountiful Baskets was all about. She shared the link and I knew I had to check them out. I was so excited when I read all about them and could not wait to get started!  I made my first contribution that week and I haven’t stopped since. The timing could not have been more perfect with my switch to a Vegan lifestyle. It is a big help in making sure that I eat plenty of veggies and fruit each week. Each week is like Christmas for me..I can’t wait to see what we will be getting in our baskets for the week. So you ask what is Bountiful Baskets…Here is the definition from their website…. “Bountiful Baskets is a non-profit food co-op for families that want to have more fresh produce for less money.”

I love being a part of Bountiful Baskets so much that I recently began running a site for them, I am the Volunteer Site Coordinator. I love sharing with others how great the produce is. Also how it can help feed your family more fruits and veggies and stay within your budget! Make sure you go check out their site and see if there is one near you..I assure you that you will not be sorry!! 🙂

http://www4.bountifulbaskets.org/?page_id=233

Here are a few pictures of baskets I have gotten over the past 7 months.

 

 

 

 

The past few weeks we have been receiving lots of luscious peaches. Big, beautiful, sweet and juicy peaches. I have been using a lot them in my smoothies, as well as in cinnamon peach oatmeal for my daughter. I also just pinned a Peach Salsa recipe I am eager to try. But tonight we were craving something sweet and I decided to make a peach cobbler/crisp. I searched many recipes and finally found one that sounded quite yummy to me. I made a few alterations and the final product was quite good!! 🙂 Sharing the recipe here and put my changes in parenthesis.

http://www.vegan-nutritionista.com/vegan-peach-cobbler-with-crumble-topping.html#

 

Vegan Peach Cobbler with Crumble Topping

 

Batter:
½ cup flour
¼ cup brown sugar + ¼ cup white sugar
1 tsp baking soda
¼ cup + 2 tbsp soymilk  (Almond Milk)
2 tbsp cinnamon (2 tsp)
2 tsp vanilla extract

Crumble Top:
½ cup vegan butter, melted
1/3 cup brown/white sugar (I used just brown sugar)
1 tsp agave nectar (I used maple flavored agave)
¾ tsp cinnamon (1 tsp)
1 pinch salt
1 ¾ cup flour (1 Cup)

I used 1 cup of oatmeal and also 1/2 cup of chopped pecans in the crumble top.

Peaches:
6-8 peaches
a healthy amount of agave nectar (I used 1/4 cup sugar)
3/4 tbsp nutmeg

Directions:

Begin by slicing the peaches and tossing them into a 9 by 13 baking pan. Then add the agave nectar and nutmeg, mixing with your hands. Set aside to soak.

Combine the batter ingredients and stir until smooth. Pour this batter to completely cover the peaches in the pan. Note: this will be liquid-y and will fall in the cracks of the peaches, not really staying on top. It is supposed to do this!

For the crumble topping, simply combine those ingredients until it becomes a very thick, crumbly dough. Using your hands, break this into small…well, crumbles…and sprinkle on top of the peaches. You should have enough to completely cover the entire dish so all you see crumb topping, as you see here.

Place in the oven at 375 for 35 minutes. Once the timer goes off, take out for just a moment and sprinkle the top with a mixture of cinnamon and brown sugar (use your own judgments for how much of this you want…I maybe used about 2 tbsp of sugar and 2 tsp of cinnamon). Place in for 5-7 more minutes. Remove, let cool, and then enjoy!

 

Next time I make this I will not add the sugar topping at the very end. To me it added sweetness that was not needed. This is a keeper in my book and a great way to use up some of the peaches we have had! 🙂

 

 

I’m loving my Bountiful Baskets and finding great recipes to use all this wonderful fresh produce!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

