Banana Nut Muffins/Bread

The generational curse love of eating has definitely been passed down in my family. It has gone from my grandma to my mom, then on to me and my sisters, I then passed it on to my daughters and finally it has been passed down to my grand-kids! We all love family get-togethers because we know there will be lots of yummy food to be shared. I have many friends who love to be invited to our get-togethers because they know there will be great food served!! My becoming vegan was a concern to some of my family as well as my friends. They were afraid they would no longer get the great tasting foods I have made through the years. (I honestly was a bit concerned myself when I first decided to become Vegan)  Well I love proving them as well as myself wrong!! Between my oldest daughter who is Vegan and myself, we are having a blast proving them wrong. My  daughter definitely has a wonderful flair of coming up with great Vegan dishes (tho she can be stingy with sharing her exact recipes!!! LOL  ) It’s been fun finding ways to modify family favorites as well as find new great tasting recipes to add to our favorites. Cooking for my family and friends is definitely a great joy to me!

I am a very blessed grandma with 11 grand-kids. I love teaching my grand-kids that eating Vegan is not only healthy for them, but also quite easy and yummy too! At one point a few of them were vegetarian but all have gone back to eating meat now. I am hoping as they become older they will make the choice to give up meat again and maybe even become Vegan. I love that they enjoy all the new recipes I share with them. Recently I had 8 of them (plus my 12-year-old!) over for a Movie Night Extravaganza and needed to make a yummy but easy breakfast to please them all. I had lots of  ripe bananas left from my Bountiful Baskets and decided I would make Banana Nut Muffins. I found a few recipes that had some of what I was looking for and  I modified them into one I was happy with. I was more than happy with the results as well as the kids were too!! I will be using this recipe to make mini loaves for the holidays also.  Serving these Banana Nut Muffins along with Gala Melon slices was a great breakfast that the kids loved! 🙂

Banana Nut Muffins/Bread

1  1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 1/4 cup oatmeal ground into a powder (I used my bullet)
3/4 cup chopped walnuts
2 tbsp. ground flax-seed mixed with 1/3 cup water (let sit for 15 minutes)
3 ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup applesauce
 1 tsp. vanilla extract
2/3 cup vanilla almond milk  
 Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix dry ingredients together.
  In a large bowl, mix wet ingredients together, separate from the dry ingredients.
  Gradually mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.
  Place mixture into greased muffin tins. Bake for 20 minutes.
I am loving following a Vegan lifestyle and seeing the changes within myself. But I love even more that I can share these changes with my family and those I love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

