Dill Pickle Kale Chips

One of the great things about getting my Bountiful Basket every week is that it allows us to try different veggies and fruits that I might not normally purchase at the store. It’s always fun and a bit like Christmas morning waiting to see what is going to be in my basket that week. A few of my favorites have include Sunchokes, Cara Cara Oranges and various types of mangoes. But the one item that I think I have enjoyed the most has been a variety of different kale’s. I love the fact that it is so nutritious as well as flavorful and used in many types of dishes. 1 oz of kale has 33 calories, 206% of Vitamin A, 134% of Vitamin C and 286% of Vitamin K!!! Check out this website for more great info on Kale.

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=38

I love it in soups as well as in a savory pie that my oldest daughter has made. Another flavorful way to enjoy kale is when it is made into Kale Chips.

 

I have found so many great recipes and flavor to make them into also. It can be as simple as coating them with olive oil and salt or nutritional yeast,  all the way to Sour Cream and Onion to Dill Pickle flavors. Today I decided to try the Dill Pickle flavored chips recipe I found through Pinterest and they turned out amazing!! A very nutritionally packed snack that is low in calories and good for you in so many ways! Here is the link to the original page where I found the recipe…..

http://thecopycatcook.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/dill-pickle-kale-chips/

 

This week we got Tuscan Kale in our Bountiful Basket. I think I like this one best for Kale Chips.

 

This is the marinade on the kale.

 

 

The kale pieces covered in the marinade and nutritional yeast and ready for the oven.

 

 

The finished product: Dill Pickle Kale Chips! 🙂

 

 

Dill Pickle Kale Chips

(My changes in parenthesis)

1 head of kale
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar        (I used white vinegar)
2 tbsp dill pickle brine              (I used 1/3 cup)
1 bunch of dill                             (I used 1 tbsp. dried)
1/2 cup raw cashews
pinch of sea salt
1/4 cup water

(I also used about 1/3 cup of nutritional yeast that I sprinkled on top before placing in the oven.)

Add the vinegar, brine, dill, cashews, water and salt to a blender or food processor and process until smooth and creamy.

Rip the kale into bite-sized pieces and put them in a large bowl. Add the marinade from the blender and use your hands to massage it in, until all the kale pieces are evenly coated.

Spread the kale onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Set your oven on its lowest temperature and bake until the chips are dry and crispy. Times will vary depending on the oven.

(It took mine about 2 hours until they were totally dried.  I also used about 1/3  cup of nutritional yeast that I sprinkled on top of the kale before placing in the oven.)

 

 

There are so many ways you can flavor your kale chips, just let your imagination go wild!!! (Or do a search on the internet…lol)   🙂

 

Leave a Reply

