Dr.’d BBQ Beans

 

I love cooking and having friends and family over for dinner. Sometimes I will make the whole meal and other times I like to do pot-luck. I love to try other people’s cooking and sharing recipes! I also love being invited to others homes or when there are church gatherings, and it is pot-luck. Trying different varieties of food made by so many people is alot of fun for me! It brings me inspiration and of course I love bringing a dish to share.

I am quite good about planning ahead on what I am going to make and bring to any gathering. And then there are times when I am asked to make a specific dish to bring that someone loves. Whatever the case is, it is something I do with great pleasure and joy, from the planning stages to the actual serving of the dish! 🙂

 

This week we were invited to a very special event to celebrate a group of young ladies participation and graduation form a Pride in Purity class (my youngest daughter attended this class). The lady who taught the class opened her beautiful home for a BBQ, with all the girls/ladies that have attended her classes the past few months. She provided the appetizers, drinks and main dish, while everyone was to bring a side dish/dessert to share. I had known this since Monday and thought about it frequently during the week, trying to decide what to make. Well I also went back to work this week and was distracted trying to get back into the routine of things.(and being tired!!!! LOL) So here it is Friday afternoon, home from work, BBQ tonite and I have NO clue on what I am making!! So here I go rummaging thru the refrigerator and pantry trying to figure out what I can make and have ready in a few hours, while having limited resources, and will still taste amazing. What I ended up with were some extremely tasty BBQ beans cooked up in my crockpot. I am calling them Dr.d BBQ Beans because they are beans that have been doctored up!! 🙂 I am quite happy with how they turned out and received quite a few compliments.  So while the majority of the time I have things well planned out, times like this prove that quick thinking can still bring yummy results! 🙂

Dr.’d BBQ Beans

6 cans your choice assorted beans(I used pinto, kidney, cannelini and northern beans)

2 cup thick and spicy bbq sauce

1 small can tomato paste

1 cup water

1/2 cup bacon bits

1 medium white onion diced

2 tbsp. yellow mustard

2 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. celery salt

1 tsp. ground red pepper

2 tbsp. molasses

Drain beans and place in crockpot. Add remaining ingredients and gently mix  together. Cook on high for 3-4 hours. Occasionally stir gently.

God truly blessed me this evening and I am thankful for many things…For a wonderful evening of fellowship with beautiful young women, lots of fun and laughter and an abundance of wonderful food!

 

4 thoughts on “Dr.’d BBQ Beans

  1. As luck would have it…I love baked beans. Your recipe looks delicious. Need a new and different recipe for baked bean, so I will definitely bookmark this and try at a later date. Seems like a good side for the mac and cheese recipe dish I found today.

    Thanks again, for stopping by my blog, and it’s a pleasure networking with you on FB as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

