Ooey Gooey Butter Cake with a Twist

“Many people will walk in and out of your life, but only true friends will leave footprints in your heart”. Eleanor Roosevelt 

I love this quote. I believe it to be true and I know in my lifetime thatI have had many people come in and out of my life and some have left footprints in my heart. I am truly blessed by the people I have met throughout my life, even those who have only been there for a short season. I have friends that I still keep in touch with from my childhood (many moons ago!!) and whom I love dearly! I also have a few wonderful friends that I made when I was in my 20’s and I feel extremely blessed to still have them in my life. There is also a dear friend with whom I have only known for 4 years but I feel like she has been a part of my family forever! Then there are those whom have come through my life, touched me and then moved on. I have one friend and her family that I wish I would have had more time to get to know before they had to move on.

She and her family had moved here to help plant a church, and that’s where I met her. Her sweet smile and disposition would always be shining! We were soon to discover that we both had a great joy for cooking and baking and sharing this with friends and family. (Her husband is a pretty darn good cook too!) So it was quite sad to learn that they would be leaving and moving home to Alabama. One recipe that I will always associate with her is Paula Deans Ooey Gooey Butter Cakes. We had gone to dinner at her home and she served these for dessert. I was bowled over by this extremely delicious cake of scrumptious yumminess!! Then when i found out how extremely easy they were to make, I was an instant fan!!! So whenever I make these bars I always think back to this very special lady and feel very blessed for the time I was able to have her in my life. We still keep in touch on FB, but there are times when I am feeling nostalgic, I wish we would have had more time to share our passion for cooking and our families. But I am very blessed by the time we were given to be friends. Even though we only had a short time we were able to spend together, I am certain that she left footprints in my heart…This one’s for you Bobbi! 🙂

 

 

Ooey Gooey Butter Bars (My twist)

Mix together

1 white cake mix

1 egg

1 stick butter, melted

1 tsp. almond extract

Pat the mixture into the bottom and up about 1 inch of a lightly greased 13 by 9 inch baking pan.

Then spread about 2 cups of your favorite jam over the mixture. I used a blend of Peach, Apricot and Blood Orange by E.D. Smith(it is soooooooo good!!)

12 oz cream cheese softened

3 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2 tbsp. Tres Classique Lemon Splash Balsamic Vinaigrette(I LOVE their products!!)

1 16 oz box powdered sugar

1 stick butter melted

Beat cream cheese until smooth. Beat in eggs, vanilla, butter and vinaigrette til smooth. Mix in powdered sugar 1 cup at a time until smooth. Pour on top of jam. Place pan in preheated 350 degree oven. Bake for 45-50 minutes. Center will still be gooey. Do not over bake. Let cool completely. Cut into bars.

4 thoughts on “Ooey Gooey Butter Cake with a Twist

  1. Aww you are so sweet! Yes I agree I am sad we were not able to know each other for very long, but you and your family are still dear to my heart and you feel like my family! I hate that we are only able to keep on FB but at least it is a way to keep up. I am thankful we are still friends and I was able to get to know you! Vegas was a very sweet season of my life.

    Your additions sound wonderful! Also I have found you can use any cake mix you like to make different flavors, my new favorite is Pumpkin, I don’t remember the exact recipie but its a Paula Deen version too! I love your blog it is so fun and makes my mouth water! I love you Denise!

  2. I am loving this. This is my first visit to your blog, so I’ve taken some time to browse through your earlier entries. Im so glad I did that.I really like the food and recipes you share with your readers and I’ll definitely be back.I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

Leave a Reply

