Finding Fun in Food

I am having so much fun with this new way of eating! It has given me back the joy of cooking! Plus I am enjoying the real simple flavors of fruits and veggies again. Most importantly I am feeling great and losing weight!!!  I love searching for new recipes and I love adapting certain recipe to my own tastes. I “NEVER” would have thought eating Vegan could be so much fun!! I also am loving my weekly adventures of getting most of my produce from Bountiful baskets. I so look forward to Saturday morning when I can go pick up my basket for the week. It’s like Christmas every Saturday morning!! Their breads so far have been great too! We have tried the Sourdough and also the 9 Grain Organic.

I tried a recipe a few weeks ago that I adapted and really enjoyed. I will be making it quite often. It is for Breakfast Cookies. The flavor was wonderful and everyone really liked them. Great to make and throw in baggies in the fridge for a quick grab on a rushed morning.

Breakfast Cookies

1 1/2 cups regular rolled oats
1 cup coconut flakes
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/4 cup of almond meal
1/2 cup mixed nuts, finely chopped
1 cup dried fruit  chopped

3 ripe bananas, mashed
1/4 cup applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to  350 f. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix rolled oats, almond meal, mixed nuts and coconut flakes. Stir in allspice and cinnamon. Add dried fruit and stir until  evenly mixed. Make sure the dried fruit do not stick together in big clumps.
In another bowl, combine applesauce, mashed banana and vanilla extract. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients and stir until well combined.
Drop by large spoonfuls onto parchment paper.   Bake for about 20 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

Here are pics of my last 2 weeks from Bountiful Baskets also.

Week 4

Week 4 add on

Week 5

Leave a Reply

